Tags

, , ,

Walking through an unfamiliar London street the other week I came upon an unusual building from this perspective:

Rear view

Rear view

Mmm – interesting! (I thought). I took this shot and moved on….

I then stopped again, perpendicular to the main street elevation:

IMG_0342

Front view – or is it a rear view?

The elevation seemed to be doing a lot: at once playful and serious, new and old (maybe?), ‘shed’ language perched over ‘brick wall’ language, private with transluscent glazing treatment – yet making a public song-and-dance with it’s first floor windows.

I kept moving on, trying not to over-think the experience….

IMG_0343

Side view – or is it a front view?

By the time I looked back from here the building’s perspective was starting to fall away, blending with the sweep of the road.

Personally I love the fun this building is having, particularly when this view reveals its more formal, ‘heritage’ neighbours. It is great that what could have been a difficult shaped plot to develop has successfully used its boundary to have a relationship with the street – using its articulation and changing perspectives to create a certain liveliness.  Its character is only enhanced by its proximity to the adjacent well maintained and proud terrace.
Maybe it is an extension to the end-of-terrace – its personality unable to be contained any longer!

It’s possible I walked past this building from the wrong direction to see character gradually revealed, but for me the formal terrace is a powerful final statement.

